FAQ

What is a court reporter?

The court reporter is a court officer who plays an essential role in the judicial system. His/her main functions are to record the words of the participants in a hearing and to produce a verbatim transcript.

How do I become a court reporter?

To become a court reporter, you must obtain a certificate in court reporting from the Court Reporting Academy of Québec and have passed the examination of the Comité sur la sténographie of the Québec Bar.

To be eligible to take the Comité sur la sténographie of the Québec Bar examination, a candidate must:

  • Hold a Diploma of College Studies (D.C.S.) or its equivalent;
  • Hold a certificate in court reporting from the Court Reporting Academy of Québec


A stenographer accreditation is granted by the Comité sur la sténographie of Québec Bar to a candidate who has:

  • Passed the examination of the Comité sur la sténographie;
  • Not been convicted by a Canadian or foreign court of a criminal offence which, in the opinion of the committee, is related to the practice of stenography, unless the candidate has been granted a pardon;
  • Paid the assessment prescribed by section 11 of the Regulation respecting the training, skill and knowledge evaluation, accreditation and discipline of stenographers;
  • Taken the oath of office before a Superior Court judge.

What is a computer-assisted stenomask?

Voice writing uses speech recognition technology to translate the spoken word to text through a soundproof device containing a microphone that the court reporter puts on his face to repeat all the words spoken by the participants at a hearing, being mindful to identify the speakers. The speech recognition software will instantly produce a written translation of the voice writer’s dictation. Voice writers use a stenomask, as opposed to an open microphone, to prevent others from hearing their dictation.

Why choose the computer-assisted stenomask method?

Speech recognition has been undergoing a real technological revolution. Speech notes taken by a computer-assisted stenomask is the easiest method to learn, the most economically accessible, the most efficient and one which is constantly evolving.

How is the program taught?

The program leading to obtaining a certificate in court reporting from the Court Reporting Academy of Québec is taught in remote synchronous mode, i.e. the student can interact live with the teacher and his/her classmates, but in a virtual classroom setting from the comfort of his/her home. Class schedules are fixed and attendance is mandatory.

Why choose the Court Reporting Academy of Québec?

The Court Reporting Academy of Québec is the only bilingual educational institution in Canada teaching court reporting. The method taught is the most promising; learning the stenomask method is much faster than other legally recognized means of note-taking. The class schedule allows students to maintain full-time employment during their studies. Together, our teachers have over 56 years of experience in voice writing and will be ensuring a personalized follow-up.

Is the court reporter an employee or is he/she self-employed?

With a few exceptions, court reporters are all self-employed, working on their own or joining a court reporting outfit. The first part of their work, note-taking, takes place in courthouses and law offices; the second part, transcription, takes place in the comfort of their homes or professional offices.

Is it a job for the future?

There is currently a significant shortage of anglophone and bilingual court reporters in Québec. The lawyers and litigants are anxiously awaiting the coming of new court reporters. In addition, the justice system needs a constant succession of francophone, anglophone and bilingual court reporters to fill the deficit caused by retirements.

What equipment is required for the court reporting program?

During the first session, the student must have the following equipment:

  • A computer with webcam connected to high-speed Internet
  • Headphones
  • A pedal
  • WordPerfect X9 (or later) word processing software

During the second session, the student will additionally need the following equipment:

  • A laptop with a minimum of 16 GB/32 GB of RAM with a webcam, connected to high speed Internet, running Windows 10
  • A stenomask with XLR jack
  • A table microphone with XLR jack
  • Nuance Dragon Professional Individual version 15 software bilingual
  • The VocEdit RapidVoice Xtreme and 4-Channel Reporter softwares (up to six microphones)
  • A Focusrite mixing console
  • A transcript condensing and indexing software

Still have questions?

Still have questions?

FAQ

Qu’est-ce qu’un sténographe?

Le sténographe est un officier de justice qui joue un rôle essentiel dans le système judiciaire. Ses fonctions principales sont de noter les paroles des participants à une audience et d’en faire la transcription.

Comment devient-on sténographe?

Pour devenir sténographe, il faut être titulaire d’un certificat en sténographie de l’Académie de sténographie officielle du Québec et réussir l’examen du Comité sur la sténographie du Barreau du Québec.

Pour être éligible à l’examen du Comité sur la sténographie du Barreau du Québec, le candidat doit :

  • Détenir un diplôme d’études collégiales ou son équivalent;
  • Détenir un certificat en sténographie de l’Académie de sténographie officielle du Québec.

Une attestation de sténographe est délivrée par le Comité sur la sténographie au candidat qui satisfait aux conditions suivantes:

  • Il a réussi l’examen du Comité sur la sténographie;
  • Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une décision d’un tribunal canadien ou étranger le déclarant coupable d’une infraction criminelle qui, de l’avis du comité, a un lien avec l’exercice de la sténographie, sauf s’il a obtenu le pardon;
  • Il a payé la cotisation prescrite à l’article 11 du Règlement sur la formation, le contrôle de la compétence, la délivrance d’une attestation et la discipline des sténographes;
  • Il a prêté le serment d’office devant un juge de la Cour supérieure.

Qu’est-ce que le sténomasque assisté par ordinateur?

Il s’agit d’un appareil insonorisé muni d’un microphone que le sténographe appose sur son visage pour répéter toutes les paroles prononcées par les participants à une audience, en prenant bien soin d’identifier les interlocuteurs. Les notes vocales du sténographe sont ainsi enregistrées et transcrites à l’aide d’un logiciel de reconnaissance de la voix.

Pourquoi choisir la méthode du sténomasque assisté par ordinateur?

La reconnaissance vocale constitue une véritable révolution technologique. La prise de notes par le sténomasque assisté par ordinateur est la méthode la plus facile à apprendre, la plus économiquement accessible, la plus efficace et celle qui évolue le plus rapidement.

Comment le programme est-il enseigné?

Le programme menant à l’obtention du certificat en sténographie de l’Académie de sténographie officielle du Québec est enseigné en mode synchrone à distance, c’est-à-dire que l’étudiant peut interagir en direct avec le professeur et ses collègues, mais dans une classe virtuelle à partir de l’endroit de son choix. Les horaires des classes sont fixes et la fréquentation doit être assidue.

Pourquoi choisir l’Académie de sténographie officielle du Québec?

L’Académie de sténographie officielle du Québec est le seul établissement d’enseignement bilingue de la sténographie au Canada. La méthode enseignée est la plus prometteuse, l’apprentissage du sténomasque se fait beaucoup plus rapidement que les autres moyens de prise reconnus légalement et l’horaire des classes permet aux étudiants de maintenir un emploi à temps plein durant leurs études. En outre, les responsables du programme cumulent plus de 56 années de métier et assurent un suivi personnalisé.

Le sténographe est-il un employé ou un travailleur autonome?

Le sténographe, sauf exception, est un travailleur autonome oeuvrant seul ou au sein d’un bureau de sténographes. Une partie de son travail, la prise de notes sténographiques, s’effectue dans les palais de justice et les bureaux d’avocats; la seconde partie, la transcription, s’effectue à partir de son bureau d’affaires ou de sa résidence.

Est-ce une profession d’avenir?

Il existe présentement une pénurie importante de sténographes anglophones et bilingues au Québec. Les avocats et justiciables attendent impatiemment la venue de cette relève qui se fait attendre. De plus, le système judiciaire a besoin d’une relève constante de sténographes francophones, anglophones et bilingues pour combler le déficit causé par les départs à la retraite.

Quel équipement est requis lors des études en sténographie?

Au cours de la première session l’étudiant devra posséder l’équipement suivant :

  • un ordinateur avec webcaméra relié à Internet haute vitesse
  • un casque d’écoute
  • un pédalier
  • le logiciel de traitement de texte WordPerfect X9 (ou version ultérieure)

Durant la deuxième session, l’étudiant devra en plus posséder l’équipement suivant :

  • un ordinateur portable possédant un minimum de 16 Go de mémoire vive avec une webcaméra, relié à Internet haute vitesse
  • un sténomasque avec prise XLR
  • un microphone de table avec prise XLR
  • le logiciel Nuance Dragon Professional Individuel version 15 bilingue
  • les logiciels VocEdit RapidVoice Xtreme et 4-Channel Reporter (possibilité de six micros)
  • une console de mixage Focusrite
  • un logiciel de transformation de transcription en format condensé avec index

Vous avez d’autres questions?

Vous avez d’autres questions?